Voters re-elect Mayor, shake up Richmond's City Council

RICHMOND, VA (WWBT) - Voters re-elected Mayor Dwight Jones in a landslide, but booted several incumbent Richmond City Council members.

Mayor Jones beat out challenger Mike Ryan, as voters overwhelmingly voted him into a second-term.

Long-time council members Marty Jewell, Doug Conner and Bruce Tyler lost their council seats in the 5th, 9th and 1st districts, respectively. Tyler lost to newcomer Jon Baliles by a slim margin,  Michelle Mosby trounced Conner and Parker Agelasto unseated veteran council member Jewell by a large margin in a contentious race.

Incumbents Kathy Graziano, Chris Hilbert, Ellen Robertson, Cynthia Newbille and Reva Trammel all won re-election by comfortable margins.

Copyright 2012 WWBT NBC12. All rights reserved.