RVA Parenting: Chesterfield Schools to honor Students of the Year

RVA Parenting: Chesterfield Schools to honor Students of the Year

CHESTERFIELD, VA (WWBT) - "Generous. Kind. A joy to have in class.  Cheerful. Trustworthy. Enthusiastic. A student that makes the school a better place. Always gives 100 percent. Friendly. Always reaches out to help others. Gets the job done."

These are the descriptions of the 2017 Chesterfield County Public Schools Students of the Year.

Each year, Chesterfield County Public Schools honors two students from every school for demonstrating citizenship and the school division's core values of respect, responsibility, honesty and accountability. On April 20, these students will be recognized during a special celebration sponsored by the Midlothian Rotary Club. Families, principals, teachers and others will gather to recognize 130 students as Students of the Year for 2017.

"Some of these students are terrific athletes, gifted musicians, passionate artists, technology wizards, brilliant writers and honor roll students, and we applaud them for these accolades, but that is not what earned these students the prestigious recognition of Student of the Year," said Dr. Javaid Siddiqi, chair of the Chesterfield County School Board. "We are celebrating the excellent choices these students are making in their lives, and we honor their commitment to be the best person possible and exemplify daily the core values of Chesterfield County Public Schools: respect, responsibility, honesty and accountability."

"The Midlothian Rotary Club has been a fantastic, long-standing partner in our efforts to celebrate the good choices these students are making in their lives and to honor their commitment to be the best person possible," said Superintendent Dr. James Lane. "We thank these students for leading by example, for demonstrating to their classmates how to achieve excellence. We also celebrate their hard work, laughter, good manners and determination."

Here are the 2017 Students of the Year for Chesterfield County Public Schools:

Elementary schools

  • Bellwood Elementary — Ashley Man and Jason Ramos
  • Bensley Elementary — Jefferson Portillo and Breasia Puryear
  • Beulah Elementary — Eryn Jones and Camrie Boothes
  • Bon Air Elementary — Kai Hutson and Hannah Neighbors
  • Chalkley Elementary — Ziara Zapata and Niyah Tucker
  • Marguerite Christian Elementary — Sean Yancey and Tyree Howard
  • Clover Hill Elementary — Yara Salib and Samantha Jaramillo
  • Crenshaw Elementary — Nevayia Fowler and Christian Gilmore
  • Crestwood Elementary — Dorothy Saunders and Dekodia Lawton
  • Curtis Elementary — Zara Ware and Natalie Lucatorto
  • A.M. Davis Elementary — Hector Garcia and Shee Moo
  • Ecoff Elementary — Isabella Yates and Jackson Pospahala
  • Enon Elementary — Sarah Nischwitz and Naina Kondragunta
  • Ettrick Elementary — Brianna Montalvo and Kyli Hatten
  • Evergreen Elementary — Anna Foster and Anna Collier
  • Falling Creek Elementary — Maia Rodoli and Kwame Ofosu-Tuffour
  • Gates Elementary — Raven Crabtree and Philip Hager
  • Gordon Elementary — Ella Morgan and Cara Barker
  • Grange Hall Elementary — Owen Harring and Taylor Smith
  • Greenfield Elementary — Jesly Martinez-Hernandez and Ford Foster
  • Harrowgate Elementary — Aaliyah Smith and Gabriel Zayas
  • Hening Elementary — Joel Brown and Mahlet Mulu
  • Hopkins Elementary — T’Maya Averett and Alana Allen
  • Jacobs Road Elementary — Aliyah Matthews and Michaela Estes
  • Matoaca Elementary — Sophia Hancock and Emma Toth
  • Providence Elementary — Adam Kim and Julia Wayne
  • Reams Road Elementary — Jade Medrano and Christopher Seamster
  • Robious Elementary — McGuire Clark and Stella Alexander
  • Salem Church Elementary — Kassidy Burns and Eddy Tobar
  • Elizabeth Scott Elementary — Mahrosh Gill and Jaxson Austin
  • Alberta Smith Elementary — Davis Xuan-Nghiem and Mary Grace Nelson
  • Spring Run Elementary — Gabriel Caldwell and Matthew Krietsch
  • Swift Creek Elementary — James Rioux and Charlotte Cummings
  • Watkins Elementary — Madeline Sheehan and Jackson Bevan
  • Bettie Weaver Elementary — Annelise Ream and Mason Tatum
  • Wells Elementary — Audrey Fitzgerald and Sophia Watsonv
  • Winterpock Elementary — Madalyn Meisner and Kenneth Criss
  • Woolridge Elementary — Mia Hill and Gedeon Ogunde

Middle schools

  • Bailey Bridge Middle — Jannat Amir and Kate Stanko
  • Carver Middle — Jumana Meri and Sanithia Tucker
  • Elizabeth Davis Middle — Joshua Deford and Daisy Portillo
  • Falling Creek Middle — Zeebaish Kanwal and Damarje Powell
  • Manchester Middle — Dennis De Leon and Julio Serrano
  • Matoaca Middle — Elijah Eggleston and Cayla Rivera-Mayen
  • Midlothian Middle — Hannah Rhudy and Sarah Nugent
  • Providence Middle — Caesura Dennis and Elizabeth Garrison
  • Robious Middle — Mary Grace Walsh and Joshua George
  • Salem Church Middle — Lilianna Morris and Sydney Keene
  • Swift Creek Middle — Logan Lacosse and Riley Taylor
  • Tomahawk Creek Middle — Jayden Baskerville and Katherine Stenner

High schools

  • L.C. Bird High — Dorian Buchanan and Alicia Alvarez
  • Career and Technical Center at Courthouse — Leah Brown and Kevin Pineda Sosa
  • Career and Technical Center at Hull — Jacobi Easter and Bailee Comer
  • Carver College and Career Academy — Tiana Bezares and Erin Waters
  • Clover Hill High — Katherine Ladocsi and Kyree Ford
  • Cosby High — Alex Mutascio and Jacob Andersen
  • Thomas Dale High — Makayla Callender and Connor Roberts
  • James River High — Quanshia Hamiel and Luke Wynne
  • Manchester High — Zachery Young and Olivia Hutton
  • Matoaca High — Tomas Carrillo-Sanchez and Jackson Green
  • Meadowbrook High — Alyssa Alexander and Ahmed Khalafalla
  • Midlothian High — William Pomeroy and Bailey Blair
  • Monacan High — Abigail Bunting and Zoe Patterson

Video of the Students of the Year celebration will be shown online at chesterfieldschoolsva.swagit.com and on Comcast Channel 96 and Verizon Channel 26 at 7 p.m. April 27 through May 5.

Copyright 2017 WWBT NBC12. All rights reserved