VOTER GUIDE: Tuesday primary for state, county positions

VOTER GUIDE: Tuesday primary for state, county positions

RICHMOND, VA (WWBT) - Candidates for state and local offices will be on the ballot for Tuesday's primary election.

The most high-profile race is likely for the successor to Joe Morrissey in the 74th District for the House of Delegates. Lamont Bagby, Leonidas Young and Stephen Adkins are all vying for the Democratic nomination to face Independent David Lambert in November. No Republican candidates have filed to run for the seat.

The 10th District Virginia Senate race includes three Democratic hopefuls, Emily Francis, Alex McMurtrie, and Daniel Gecker. They will run against Independent Marleen Durfee and Republican Glen Sturtevant to fill the seat left vacant by John Watkins, who has announced his decision to retire.

Polls open Tuesday at 6 a.m. See a full list of races below

Click here to find your polling place and what's on your ballot:


House of Delegates

63rd District

  • Larry D. Brown, Sr.
  • Lashrecse D. Aird
  • Gerry J. Rawlinson
  • Atiba H. Muse
  • W.H. “Mouse” Jones, Jr.

69th District

  • Betsy B. Carr (incumbent)
  • Preston T. Brown

74th District

  • Lamont Bagby
  • Leonidas B. Young, II
  • Stephen R. Adkins

Senate of Virginia

10th District

  • Emily C. Francis
  • Alex B. McMurtrie, Jr.
  • Daniel A. Gecker

16th District

  • Rosalyn R. Dance (incumbent)
  • Joseph E. Preston

Prince Edward Commonwealth's Attorney

  • Brian T. Butler
  • Megan L. Clark

Prince Edward Board of Supervisors

  • Pattie Cooper-Jones (incumbent)
  • Mattie P. Wiley


Senate of Virginia

11th District

  • Stephen H. Martin (incumbent)
  • Amanda F. Chase
  • Barry F. Moore, Jr.

12th District

  • Edward S. Whitlock, III
  • Siobhan S. Dunnavant
  • Vince M. Haley
  • W.R. “Bill” Janis

Henrico Clerk of Court

  • Heidi S. Barshinger
  • Sherry M. Fones

Hanover Commonwealth's Attorney

  • R.E. “Trip” Chalkley, III (incumbent)
  • Eddie R. “Ed” Vaughn, Jr.

Henrico Commonwealth's Attorney

  • Shannon D. Dillon
  • Jeffrey L. “Jeff” Everhart
  • T. Tony H. Pham

Copyright 2015 WWBT NBC12. All rights reserved