Area Teachers Get National Board Certification - NBC12 - WWBT - Richmond, VA News On Your Side

Area Teachers Get National Board Certification

Sarah Simmel (left) celebrates with her mother, Curry, who drove down from New Jersey with her husband, Scott, for the event. Sarah Simmel (left) celebrates with her mother, Curry, who drove down from New Jersey with her husband, Scott, for the event.

37 Outstanding Central Virginia Educators were awarded National Board Certification Thursday night at the Singleton Center for the Performing Art on the campus to Virginia Commonwealth University.

Teachers who seek National Board Certification must complete demanding assessments of their knowledge and skills. They develop a school-site portfolio that includes student work samples, video clips of effective lessons, and reflective commentaries about their use of strategies that increase student learning. In addition, candidates must respond to test questions that demonstrate the depth the breadth of their subject matter knowledge. The process takes the entire school year or more, and requires an additional 200-400 hours of preparation beyond the school day. A National Board Certificate attests that a teacher has met the highest standards established for the profession. The certificate is valid for ten years, after which teachers must go through a renewal process to maintain the credential.

Two Teachers were Recipients of the Dr. Judy Flythe Teacher Leader Award

La-Neka S. Brown, Miles J. Jones Elem. and Pamela M. Hall, Cosby High


First time Recipients of National Board Certification


Whitney Anne Beck, Cashell Donahoe Elem.

Angela Pickels Branyon, Glenn Allen High

Julliet B. Coates, Hermitage Technical Center

Fahryka P. Elliott, Henrico High

Karen Finch, J. R. Tucker High

Erin Carissa Franklin, Echo Lake Elem.

Jennifer M. King, Henrico High

Carolyn Mosher, Sandston Elem.

Donna Nagle, Skipwith Elem.

Suzanna L. Panter, Dumbarton Elem.

Mark Rankin, G. H. Moody Middle

Wylie Schwieder, Henrico High

Sarah Atwell Simmel, Pinchbeck Elem.

Anne-Marie Aubin Slinkman, Greenwood Elem.

Sara Poston White, Jackson Davis Elem.

Audra S. Yerian, Jackson Davis Elem.


Kimberly N. Coleman, Maymont Preschool

Leigh C. Ledford, Summer Hill and Ruffin Road Elem.

Christal R. Mark, Linwood Holton Elem.

Carrie Single, Swansboro Elem.

Hwayoung Heather Smith, John B. Cary Elem.

Stacey P. Woodson, John Marshall High


Catherine Rose Cauthorn, Tomahawk Creek Middle

Hunter R. Clark, Clover Hill High

Karen M. Dunsmore, Carver Middle

Karen P. Johnson, Elizabeth Davis Middle

Roger. D. Lattimer, Cosby High

Meghan Elizabeth Whitney, Jacobs Road Elem.


Lacey M. Hampton, Washington Henry Elem.

Margaret Hanayik, Kersey Creek Elem.

Christine DeSantis Hoffman, Beaverdam Elem.

Rebecca Marie Kazio, Oak Knoll Middle

Delicia L. Keeton, Lee Davis High

Jamie Mullenaux, Mechanicsville Elem.

Tara Ellzabeth Redmond, Stonewall Jackson Middle

Jennifer A. Sanders, Kersey Creek Elem.

Patricia J. Webb, Stonewall Jackson Middle



Copyright 2013 WWBT NBC12.  All rights reserved.


Powered by Frankly