'EZ Moves' gets a not so easy review - NBC12 - WWBT - Richmond, VA News On Your Side

'EZ Moves' gets a not so easy review

LOUISVILLE (WAVE) - How many times have you had to move heavy, bulky furniture? It can be a pain and even dangerous to your back. Now the 'EZ Moves' is suppose to make that move much easier and even safer, but does it really work? I put it to the test to find out.

After a viewer request, we purchased the 'EZ Moves' at a local Walgreens store. I found that it comes with eight skid pads to put under your furniture and a unique power bar that resembles more of a barbaric boomerang! However, it claims to give you 10 times your normal strength to pick up heavy furniture. Keep in mind, some assembly is required for this piece!

I tested the 'EZ Moves' first on a sofa in our newsroom. I used the power bar to lift each corner of the sofa and then slid a skid pad under each leg. The power bar seemed to work just fine in lifting the not so heavy furniture, and the skid pads did aid a bit in moving the sofa around. But, I wondered how it would work on a real heavy piece of furniture?

I found a large, heavy desk in our sports department. I used the power bar to lift the desk and installed four of the skid pads underneath. Then came the actual moving test. It wasn't that easy! It didn't seem to help all that much to me. The 'EZ Moves' allowed me to enjoy a smooth push as I almost pushed my guts out! I was lead to believe by the commercial that it would actually help take a lot of the weight off of items to make the moving around part much easier. It doesn't.

Since I wasn't real impressed with the way the 'EZ Moves' performed on a heavy piece of furniture, I decided to put it's own claim it could move a car to the test. We went to Downtown Ford for the test.

The infomercial shows a man lifting the car with the power bar, then easily moving the car with the skid pads underneath all four wheels. I somehow just knew that the power bar was NOT going to lift a car, so with the help of a showroom employee, we rolled the 2,600 pound Mustang onto the skid pads. Once in place, I pushed with all my might, but still was unable to move the car even a fraction of an inch.

So, in the end, I find that the 'EZ Moves' works well with 'light' furniture. If you plan on moving anything very heavy, I would recommend you call a few friends to help out. The 'EZ Moves' in my opinion won't do the job for heavy moving.

 

@

Copyright 2012 Copyright 2012 WAVE News. All rights reserved.

  • Latest news from NBC12.comNEWSMore>>

  • Congress settles for stopgap to avoid government shutdown

    Congress settles for stopgap to avoid government shutdown

    Saturday, April 29 2017 10:10 AM EDT2017-04-29 14:10:00 GMT
    Saturday, April 29 2017 10:10 AM EDT2017-04-29 14:10:00 GMT

    President Donald Trump seems destined to serve his 100th day in office without House passage of a Republican health care bill or enactment of a budget financing the government for the rest of this year.

    More >>

    President Donald Trump seems destined to serve his 100th day in office without House passage of a Republican health care bill or enactment of a budget financing the government for the rest of this year.

    More >>
  • Bicyclist dies after being hit by car in Richmond's southside

    Bicyclist dies after being hit by car in Richmond's southside

    Saturday, April 29 2017 9:42 AM EDT2017-04-29 13:42:20 GMT
    Police say a man has died, after being struck by a car, while he was riding a bicycle in Richmond's southside. It happened just after 10:30 p.m. Friday in the 1600 block of Hopkins Road. Officers say when they arrived at the scene, the bicyclist was already dead. We're still working to learn if the driver is facing any charges. Stay with NBC 12 for updates. Copyright 2017 WWBT NBC12. All rights reserved Report an Error or Submit a Tip to NBC12 More >>
    Police say a man has died, after being struck by a car, while he was riding a bicycle in Richmond's southside. It happened just after 10:30 p.m. Friday in the 1600 block of Hopkins Road. Officers say when they arrived at the scene, the bicyclist was already dead. We're still working to learn if the driver is facing any charges. Stay with NBC 12 for updates. Copyright 2017 WWBT NBC12. All rights reserved Report an Error or Submit a Tip to NBC12 More >>
  • Richmond rally Saturday to unite families with missing loved ones

    Richmond rally Saturday to unite families with missing loved ones

    Friday, April 28 2017 10:48 PM EDT2017-04-29 02:48:46 GMT
    Saturday, the state of Virginia will pause to reflect on those who have gone missing -- and for the first time, an event will be held in Richmond to support families who are impacted. (Source: NBC 12)Saturday, the state of Virginia will pause to reflect on those who have gone missing -- and for the first time, an event will be held in Richmond to support families who are impacted. (Source: NBC 12)

    Saturday, the state of Virginia will pause to reflect on those who have gone missing -- and for the first time, an event will be held in Richmond to support families who are impacted. One of the most memorable cases in our area happened not even a year ago when 21-year-old Keeshae Jacobs disappeared. The case has left police at a standstill. The missing woman's mother says this is a perfect opportunity to unite others who share her pain and turn it into purpose - by gathering Saturda...

    More >>

    Saturday, the state of Virginia will pause to reflect on those who have gone missing -- and for the first time, an event will be held in Richmond to support families who are impacted. One of the most memorable cases in our area happened not even a year ago when 21-year-old Keeshae Jacobs disappeared. The case has left police at a standstill. The missing woman's mother says this is a perfect opportunity to unite others who share her pain and turn it into purpose - by gathering Saturda...

    More >>
  • Trending StoriesTrending StoriesMore>>

  • Severe reaction to new sandals leads woman on a painful path

    Severe reaction to new sandals leads woman on a painful path

        One woman wants to warn people about her painful path, the result of a severe and debilitating allergic reaction.  She had no idea what she was allergic to until she visited a fourth emergency room in two weeks.    

    More >>

    One woman wants to warn people about her painful path, the result of a severe and debilitating allergic reaction. She had no idea what she was allergic to until she visited a fourth emergency room in two weeks.    

    More >>
  • 'The Phantom' serial killer of children out of prison, living in Tucson

    'The Phantom' serial killer of children out of prison, living in Tucson

    Thursday, April 27 2017 12:17 AM EDT2017-04-27 04:17:43 GMT
    Friday, April 28 2017 11:32 PM EDT2017-04-29 03:32:02 GMT
    Convicted killer William Huff was spotted riding his bicycle through a Tucson neighborhood. (Source: 3TV/CBS 5)Convicted killer William Huff was spotted riding his bicycle through a Tucson neighborhood. (Source: 3TV/CBS 5)

    William Huff terrorized Sierra Vista during the spring and summer of 1967. Despite a sentence of 40 years to life, the Arizona Board of Executive Clemency voted to release him from prison into home arrest. Family members of the victims are concerned for the safety of the community, as are new members of the Clemency Board. CBS 5 Investigates videotaped Huff riding a bike through his Tucson neighborhood. There are no restrictions placed on his proximity to children.

    More >>

    William Huff terrorized Sierra Vista during the spring and summer of 1967. Despite a sentence of 40 years to life, the Arizona Board of Executive Clemency voted to release him from prison into home arrest. Family members of the victims are concerned for the safety of the community, as are new members of the Clemency Board. CBS 5 Investigates videotaped Huff riding a bike through his Tucson neighborhood. There are no restrictions placed on his proximity to children. 

    More >>
  • 'I got 2 clips!' Impatient mom pulls out gun, threatens barber cutting son's hair

    'I got 2 clips!' Impatient mom pulls out gun, threatens barber cutting son's hair

    Friday, April 28 2017 5:45 PM EDT2017-04-28 21:45:21 GMT
    (Source: Crime Stoppers of Cuyahoga County Facebook)(Source: Crime Stoppers of Cuyahoga County Facebook)

    Police are looking for a woman who pointed a gun at a barber all because her son's haircut was taking too long.

    More >>

    Police are looking for a woman who pointed a gun at a barber all because her son's haircut was taking too long.

    More >>
Powered by Frankly