UVA to host baseball regional

CHARLOTTESVILLE, VA (WWBT) - For the third straight year, UVA's road to Omaha will begin on their home field.

The NCAA announced Sunday that Charlottesville has been selected as one of 16 regional host sites for the 2012 NCAA Division I Baseball Championship. The four-team, double-elimination tournament will run June 1-4 at UVa's Davenport Field. Two games each will be played Friday (June 1), Saturday (June 2) and Sunday (June 3). If necessary, a single game will be played Monday (June 4).

The remaining at-large teams, top-eight national seeds, first-round regional pairings and site assignments will be announced at noon Monday on ESPNU. Regional game times also will be announced Monday.  The selection committee will set the entire 64-team bracket through both the super regionals and the first round of the Men's College World Series and will not re-seed the field after play begins. Selection of the eight Super Regional hosts will be announced June 4 at approximately 11 p.m. following the conclusion of the regional round.

The 16 regional sites, with host institutions and records (through May 26) are as follows:

Baton Rouge, Louisiana - LSU (43-16)
Chapel Hill, North Carolina - North Carolina (44-14)
Charlottesville, Virginia - Virginia (38-17)
College Station, Texas - Texas A&M (42-16)
Columbia, South Carolina - South Carolina (40-17)
Coral Gables, Florida - *Miami (FL) (36-20)
Eugene, Oregon - *Oregon (42-16)
Gainesville, Florida - Florida (42-18)
Gary, Indiana - Purdue (44-12)
Houston - Rice (40-17)
Los Angeles - *UCLA (41-14)
Palo Alto, California - *Stanford (37-16)
Raleigh, North Carolina - North Carolina State (39-17)
Tallahassee, Florida - Florida State (43-15)
Tucson, Arizona - *Arizona (37-17)
Waco, Texas - Baylor (44-14)
*Teams that are playing today (Sunday, May 27).

By virtue of being awarded a regional, all 16 host institutions also have been selected to the 64-team field.

Virginia will serve as a regional host site for the third-consecutive year and the sixth time overall (2004, 2006, 2007, 2010, 2011, 2012). UVa will make its ninth-consecutive appearance in the NCAA tournament and its 12th all-time.

Copyright 2012 WWBT NBC12. All rights reserved.