Tech's Wilson wins Dudley Award

RICHMOND, VA (WWBT) - The Hokies continued their recent dominance of the Dudley Award Wednesday night at their yearly banquet in Richmond.  Running Back David Wilson took home the award, given to the best Division I college football player in the state of Virginia.

Wilson became the 10th Virginia Tech player to win the award in the last 13 seasons.

Wilson won the award over William & Mary running back Jonathan Grimes and UVA running back Perry Jones.

Washington & Lee quarterback Charlie Westfal won the Willie Lanier award given to the top VA player in Division II, III and the NAIA.  Mills Godwin product Travis Lane of Hampden-Sydney finished second and Devan Sproles of Emory & Henry finished third.

Among the other award winners:


Offensive Back: David Wilson, RB, Virginia Tech

Offensive Lineman: Blake DeChristopher, RT, Virginia Tech

Wide Receiver: Tre Gray, WR, Richmond

Defensive Lineman: Matt Conrath, DT, Virginia

Linebacker: Steve Greer, LB, Virginia

Defensive Back: Chase Minnifield, CB, Virginia

Special Teams: Jonathan Grimes, RB/KR, William & Mary


Offensive Back: Travis Lane, QB, Hampden-Sydney College

Offensive Lineman: Ben Rogers, C, Hampden-Sydney College

Wide Receiver: Kyle Vance, WR, Hampden-Sydney College

Defensive Lineman: Joe Pricone, DE, Randolph-Macon College

Linebacker: Devan Sproles, LB, Emory & Henry College

Defensive Back: Derek Britt, DB, Christopher Newport

Special Teams: William Rudd, K/P, Virginia State

Copyright 2011 WWBT NBC12. All rights reserved.